The Science of Ducks


“Did you know Bill Nye the Science Guy is on Netflix now?” my sister piled more peas onto her plate. I sat at my place at the table, meticulously stuffing mashed potatoes into my halved hot-dog.

“No, I didn’t know that.” I said. “That guy is my favorite.”

“Bill! Bill! Bill!” she gleefully sang. Whenever we talked about science, it always devolved the the rhythmic chanting of our childhood hero. She grinned. “You know, when I was a kid, I thought the theme went: ‘Inertia is a property of Mallard.'”

My mom and I laughed.

“Mallard?!” I said. “I guess it does kinda sound like that.”

“Bill, Bill, Bill, Bill Bill,” her voice got lower and lower until she was croaking. “Bill Nye, the Science Guy.”

3 thoughts on “The Science of Ducks

    1. I loved Captain Planet! He’s a hero. Gonna take pollution down to zero. 🙂 I agree. With all these great role models, we should really get our act together about taking care of our planet. Though I’ve never heard of Mr. Wizard.

      Liked by 1 person

Have some thoughts? Please, share them.

