Compassion Over Fashion


I am marvelous, I am rare. I am flawless in my imperfections. My blemishes don’t mar me, they make me.

That’s why it didn’t hurt to hear them snicker.

I was wearing my favorite shirt, and the new glasses I was so happy with. I could see everything so much clearer, it was like fresh air had poured itself into my eyeballs and I could see with the clarity of the clouds. Even the pink veins in my eyes seemed to throb with new precision.

I am stunning, I am delicate.

I’m not anything spectacular, just an average mousy kid with fingers too short and a jaw too square. But I felt lovely that day, and confident. My mascara wasn’t perfect. And my shirt wasn’t designer.

But I felt wonderful.

That’s why when I heard the girls across from me, the one with perfectly sculpted eyebrows and a pouting mouth and the other with ombre hair and designer backpack, talking about me, I wasn’t hurt.

That’s why when one murmured to the other, “That shirt just doesn’t work on her, and it shows,” I wasn’t heartbroken.

That’s why, when her perfect pouting mouth stopped simpering and started sneering, I didn’t shrink into my shoulders.

I am gorgeous, I am new.

That’s why when she whispered, “I know, do you think she notices how bad she looks?” I didn’t have to hold back tears.

That’s why I didn’t ever not wear that shirt again.

That’s why I definitely didn’t cry myself to sleep that night.

No. Certainly not.

I am superb, I am great.

That’s what I tell the brown-haired girl with eyes the color of mud in the mirror. I tell her every day. I don’t think she believes me.

I am pretty, I am excellent.

Until it loses all meaning.

Because beautiful lies cut more deeply than ugly truths ever will.

 

9 Replies to “Compassion Over Fashion”

  1. TTUTT This is so beautiful. It is so hopeful and amazing. You are a brilliant writer, and you have the most beautiful outlook on life. You are beautiful in so many ways. And outer beauty is definitely one of them.

    P.S. I AM GOING TO SLAP THAT HORRIBLE WHALE WHO SAID THAT.

    Like

    1. Thanks! This post was one of the few that I publish immediately, with no editing. It came right out of my life and begged to be written out RIGHT THEN. Thanks so much. ๐Ÿ™‚
      P.P.S. I KNOW RIGHT

      Like

  2. Girls like that bother me probably more than they should. They all look the same. They all have the same backpack, and they all wear the same disgusting clothing. They are all the same. They are one unit of brainless drones that thrive on putting others down. Because they have nothing else to live for. They are not happy.

    Like

    1. I don’t think they’re happy either. How on earth can you be content with yourself if you act like that? I dunno. I try to be nice and think that maybe they’re having a bad day too, but mostly I just get mad at them. XD

      Like

  3. Most of them look the same because they are cheerleaders. Okay not really but for at least one year all the cheerleaders pictures had the same hair and bangs. it’s like a dress code or something . . .
    Any way! I’m so glad you can feel confident! You are a daughter of God! As long as you can see that who cares what other girls think? There is no one who can hurt you unless you let them. The only opinion you need to worry about is yours and the Saviors. So you go girl! Be who you are and never forget it!

    Like

    1. Thank you for your support! You always lift me up with your sweet and heartfelt comments. ๐Ÿ™‚ I do agree that people can only hurt you if you let them. It took me a long time to figure out how that worked, but now I’m better for it. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

Have some thoughts? Please, share them.

